RSS

Why is chocolate so important on Valentine’s day?

14 Mar

Type in that question on Google and the answer will come to you, especially the ones that cover the history of chocolate during the Aztec time and how they were valued so highly during those times. We seem to have taken chocolate for granted these days.

I myself am a huge fan of chocolate, however, my intolerance to lactose prevents me from having those widely available in the market. Not that I mind though, I prefer dark chocolates, the darker the better… I normally would chose 70% or more, so when I had to give up dairy, I found no trouble on adjusting to only being able to have non-dairy chocolates. I guess I take that after my late Grandfather who loved his dark chocolate. I first came across it when I tried Dad’s chocolate and absolutely loved it, and Dad said how it was my Grandad’s favourite too.

To me, chocolate serves more than just sweet goodness… chocolate is a symbol of health, abundance, and love. Some may say that chocolate is a “lazy” kind of present for any occasion, however, when a chocolate is chosen specifically for that person, with much care and thought, I found it to be one of the most flattering choice of gifts. The flavours not only represent the personality of the giver, but also what he or she thinks about the recipient. It cannot get any more personal than that.

As in regards to my intolerance, I found that a chocolate chosen specifically for me, or made for me, and I could eat without having to take any supplement means the world to me.

Given the history of Valentine’s day, the version I heard was that St Valentine performed secret marriage ceremonies for young soldiers who were forbidden to marry due to their duty. The day is a celebration of love and commitment, hence chocolate is the traditional gift for the occasion, and given the history of chocolate, it is very appropriate.

In Japan, women give chocolates to the men, while on White Day (exactly one month after Valentine’s day), the men return the favour to the women. I don’t celebrate the occasion, but I am no stranger to the concept, many of my friends celebrate it, the country I’m from is familiar with some Japanese cultures and traditions, and in addition, I have dated a Japanese man in the past.

The last two Valentine’s day however, I have been left empty handed. My parents used to give me chocolates and we used to go out for dinner, and since I left home my parents would call on the day just to say “Happy Valentine’s Day”. But last year and this year, the day was a big disappointment for me.

Last year I didn’t get any chocolate and this year, even after I’ve told my partner how much chocolate means to me and how important it is to receive chocolate on Valentine’s day, I was still left empty handed. If I say I was disappointed, it was an understatement. Not only I was disappointed, but I was angry, sad, deeply hurt, and feeling neglected and disrespected. I was disappointed and hurt that he didn’t notice the importance of these traditions to me personally, and why I was really determined to meet these expectations during these times.

At first I thought he might have heard me saying something about White Day which he was aware of, but I learned from last year that a month of waiting was fruitless.

It was White Day and I was sick of waiting for chocolates that I still have yet to receive since last year, so I took matter to my own hands. At lunch time yesterday, I went to Buttlers Chocolate… 10 minutes and $11.40 later, I walked out with a bag of gourmet chocolate wrapped nicely in a bag with yellow ribbon to seal it. Sure, I didn’t get dairy free chocolates, but that’s beside the point.

So here’s the question, if you know that your partner could be made very happy with something so simple, wouldn’t it be worth the 10 minutes of effort that you put into it?

-Fi

UPDATE: He made me chocolates :) Turns out that my waiting this year wasn’t fruitless :)

Images from http://www.sxc.hu/
 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in love life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Why is chocolate so important on Valentine’s day?

Leave a Reply

 
