RSS

Are you nice in general?

15 Nov

… or are you nice because you want something?

One may say that we should be nice to everyone, no matter who they are, but one may also say, why should I be nice to them if they’re not nice to me?

In my opinion, I think we should be nice to everyone, HOWEVER, sometimes you ought to stop being nice to people if they are taking advantage of it. I’m nice to people just because I want to, just because it makes me feel good about myself, and because quite frankly, they have never done anything wrong to me. But I sometimes wonder, should I be nice if a certain someone who was being nice to me only did so because she wants something in return?

Take it from my personal experience. Someone I know was “nice” to EVERYONE, over the top kind of nice. BUT… if you do something she didn’t agree with, she’d cut you out compeltely, and made sure that everyone who’s in her “circle” of friends take her side. No one in her “circle” had the guts to tell her off, even critize her because if they did, heck, she’d do the same to them.

Unfortunately for her, I wasn’t the kind to sit back and let her have her way. Yeah, she did all the things I thought she’d do, that wasn’t so unpredictable, but I was surprised at how childish she was on the way she handled things. Within a week everyone in her “circle” excluded me, not that I mind, it saved me the effort of cutting out people who wouldn’t be a good kind of friends for me, I had people de-friended me on Facebook, again, not that I mind, I think people are too obsessed with Facebook anyway, plus, if they don’t have the guts to ask me what happened, or even have the decency to talk to me about the situation, then it’s save to say that I don’t want them on my facebook looking at the things I’ve been up to anyway.

If people aren’t afraid of being cut off, they’d feel guilt-tripped. She has done so much for them, and they’d feel bad for going against her on some things. She was nice to me to start with, but I guess my past experience had taught me to see beyond the outline of a person, from the start I knew that she was being nice to me so I wouldn’t have the guts to go against her in any way. I was very careful about her and kept my distance. Surely enough, after since she stopped talking to me, I heard all the ugly things that she has been saying behind my back since day 1 (those days when she was still nice towards me). Well then, I guess it’s a good thing now she stays out of my way.

My bestfriends and I fight and argue too sometimes, all for the better. It helped us grow to be wiser, and it even made us grow closer together as friends, those fights and arguement were the things than made us realize how valuable it was to have each other.

Be nice… because you want to be nice :)

Have a lovely day everyone!

-Fi

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in Attitude

 

Leave a Reply

 
